Co-washing – Worth the Hype?

IMG_0114

Grow Gorgeous 11-in-1 Cleansing Conditioner, available at boots £17.99

Note: The packaging has changed now, and I bought it from a boots clearence section for about £3. Like hell am I paying £18 for a conditioner.

Co-washing was all the rage a while back. The idea is that it doesn’t strip your hair like some shampoo, and leaves your hair in great condition. I’ve heard it’s particularly good for curly hair, and as my natural hair is very frizzy, and very curly I thought I would give it a go….

It’s a bizarre feeling only doing one thing to your hair in the shower, like you’re getting out and drying off and you’re only half done.

For me, co-washing with this product isn’t something I will be continuing after I’ve used it up. I don’t know if it’s because when I’m stressed I get a super dry scalp and hefty dandruff, or if its because my frizzy hair needs more moisture than the average, but it left my hair and scalp feeling not quite clean enough, and not quite conditioned enough. Just an uncomfortable middle ground.

 

2 thoughts on “Co-washing – Worth the Hype?

  1. I tried it once and my hair looked amazing. The second time I did it, my hair started to get really oily and it became limp. I think doing it once in a while is good, but doing it eveytime just ruins your hair.

    Like

Leave a comment