Manicure for what ails ya.

A DIY manicure is something I really enjoy doing when I feel like I need a bit of a boost or me-time TLC. It’s so nice to just melt away for an 30-60mins, into something that’s beneficial for my nails and self confidence, and that doesn’t involve too much effort or movement (I’m looking at you any form of exercise.)

I like to keep a kit ready and close to hand for when the mood takes me. I like to think of it in two sections; maintenance and treatment.

IMG_0152

In the maintenance section we have:

Cuticle nippers – to clean up any straggly bits or useless pokey dead skin around the nail bed.

Nail clippers & scissors – I’m not sure if I’m supposed to use one or the other to trim my nails and try and keep them all an even length. If any qualified nail-ies want to give me any insight please do! At the moment its either/or, depending on what mood takes me.

Leighton Deny Glass File (mini)
I go over every nail after trimming with this bad boy, aiming to keep it going in one direction but oh my god it’s so hard to keep that up! I keep one in my bag too for nail related emergencies.

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover
What can I say? It works! You put a layer over your cuticles and leave for the 30 seconds, push back and boom! No more cuticles!

Metal & Plastic Orange Sticks
For pushing back the aforementioned cuticles. I try to use the plastic one for the sake of limiting damage but I do tend to crack out the metal one for particularly stubborn cuticles.

4 Sided buffing block
My nails are really sensitive (weak, splitting, peeling) so I don’t use the full block every time I do my nails, maybe about once every 6 weeks. I’ll still usually use the shine nails side though!

Tissues

To wipe nails down and get rid of any grimey bits of cuticle that a still lurking about.

IMG_0153

And in the treatment section:

Nail oils
Solar Oil for mani’s at home, and Sally Hanson Maximum Growth Cuticle & Nail Moisture Pen for putting in my bag and oiling up my talons while out and about. For nourishment.

Nu Nale Cream Nail Strengthener
When someone first recommended this I was told “heed this warning: it does not smell good.” It’s not that offensive, only a bit baby-powder-old-lady-ish. It works so good well. I always recommend this to anyone with problem nails! For Strength.

Flexitol Cuticle & Nail Cream
I either take a teeny bit and rub it into my cuticles and move on, or I put a fairly thick layer on and sit for a good 30 mins just letting it soak in and nourish all the dry skin around my cuticles. Absolutely amazing if you spend a lot of your time with your hands in water or cleaning products. For hydrated cuticles.

L’Occitane Cherry Blossom Hand Cream
Also frequently swapped out for any random hand cream! I like to take a fairly large amount and take some good time massaging it in. Usually I’ll leave a gap between this and everything else, and do this while I’m laying in bed, just before I turn off the light. For hydrated hands.

I’m always on the look out for any products that promise to fix my nails. So far, no avail. I do like my little manicure ritual though!

Leave a Reply

